laura riding jackson poetry winners

Congratulations to the VBHS winners of the Laura Riding Jackson Foundation’s Poetry Prize! Students were nominated by their English teachers for their pursuit and passion for poetry writing, and this year’s winners are: 

  • 9th Grade, Guiberly Dieuvil 
  • 10th Grade, Anna Birnholz 
  • 11th Grade, Madison Wickberg and Petrina Mazzeo 

Each winner received a $75 award and a certificate of recognition. The LRJF is dedicated to carrying on poet Laura (Riding) Jackson’s devoted mentoring of younger writers. The foundation sponsors annual writing workshops as well as literary and historical programs and events.

From Left to Right:  Marie Stiefel and Susan Jamamillo of LRJF, Petrina Mazzeo, Madison Wickberg, Anna Birnholz, Guiberly Dieuvil, and VBHS principal Shawn O’Keefe.