DATE:  January 29, 2018

Cristen McMillan
Phone:  772-564-5527   


SDIRC, in partnership with the education foundation, hosted regional science and engineering fair at gifford middle school  

Vero Beach, FL, January 29, 2018 - The Education Foundation of Indian River County, in partnership with the School District of Indian River County, hosted the Indian River Regional Science & Engineering Fair at Gifford Middle School on Saturday, January 27, 2018.  Nearly 320 students, from 17 public and independent schools, presented 200 projects.  

The students were honored for their success at the Elementary Award Ceremony on Sunday, January 28, 2018, 3:00 p.m., at Sebastian River High School’s Performing Arts Center.  Below is a complete list of all winners.  

science fair elementary winners 


 K-3 – Piper Aircraft Best of Show: Mrs. Davis’ Class – Beachland Elementary   4-5 – Wells Fargo Best of Show: Aleah Hilliard - Liberty Elementary 

Kindergarten:          1st Place: Mrs. Palau’s Class – Beachland Elementary         2nd Place: Mrs. Lewis’ Class – Rosewood Magnet         3rd Place: Mrs. Mulcahy’s Class – Treasure Coast Elementary

1st Grade:       1st Place:  Mrs. Askren’s Class – Citrus Elementary       2nd Place: Mrs. Davis’ Class – Beachland Elementary       3rd Place: Mrs. Chavers’ Class – Rosewood Magnet

2nd Grade:       1st Place:  Mrs. Davis’ Class – Beachland Elementary          2nd Place: Mrs. Glaser’s Class – Osceola Magnet       3rd Place: Mrs. Topp & Mrs. Wilson’s Class – Rosewood Magnet

3rd Grade:       1st Place: Adalie Gustave & Ella Gravlee – Osceola Magnet       2nd Place: Ava Cichewicz & Grace Ford – Liberty Magnet       3rd Place: Autumn Monroe & Colton Trenepohl – Rosewood Magnet

4th Grade – A:             1st Place: Aleah Hilliard – Liberty Magnet       2nd Place: Rayne Agnew & Gabriel Reed – Rosewood Magnet       3rd Place: John Miller – Saint Edward’s Lower School

4th Grade – B:       1st Place: Carrie Jane Fykes – Saint Edward’s Lower School       2nd Place: Kayla Haffield & Brianna Manu – Rosewood Magnet       3rd Place: Mariah Martinez & Kaniya Hudson – Vero Beach Elementary

4th Grade – C:       1st Place: Mya Wild – Rosewood Magnet       2nd Place: Payton Andrews – Saint Edward’s Lower School       3rd Place: Ella Campione & Daniel Silveira – Beachland Elementary

4th Grade – D:       1st Place: Olivia Stovall – Saint Edward’s Lower School        2nd Place: Joniah Holson & Brandon Walker – Rosewood Magnet       3rd Place: Jacob Arbelaez & Luke Basile – Saint Helen Catholic School

4th Grade-E:       1st Place: Darci Wagner - Rosewood Magnet       2nd Place: Gracie Baker - Saint Edward’s Lower School       3rd Place: James Russell & Daisy Pascale – Osceola Magnet

5th Grade-A:       1st Place: Max Plotkin - Treasure Coast Elementary       2nd Place: Cody Clark – Rosewood Magnet       3rd Place: Enzio Crisafulli - Beachland Elementary

5th Grade-B:       1st Place: Addison Logemann - Saint Edward’s Lower School        2nd Place: Xana Claire Jasmin & Emma Beale-Huling – Osceola Magnet        3rd Place: Jeremiah Jackson – Glendale Elementary

5th Grade-C:       1st Place: Natalee Rogers – Saint Edward’s Lower School       2nd Place: Jacob Denning – Treasure Coast Elementary           3rd Place: Vincent Trio & Anthony Tjovaras - Sebastian Elementary

5th Grade-D:       1st Place: Harrison Reicher – Saint Edward’s Lower School       2nd Place:  Bronwyn Segal – Beachland Elementary          3rd Place:  Chole Stepanek – Rosewood Magnet

5th Grade-E:       1st Place: Sienna Mallon – Saint Edward’s Lower School       2nd Place: Ben Hall – Beachland Elementary       3rd Place: Payton DeGroat & Camila Montoya – Treasure Coast Elementary

Special Awards

The Dong Family Young Scientist Award (cash award and certificate): Rylin Reed - SunCoast School Nora Gardner - Liberty Magnet

The Motivated Young Scientist Award (cash award and certificate): Anthony Rubino – Vero Beach Elementary

The Emma Susanne Stewart Award (cash award and certificate): Nadia Flores & Mackenzie Pollard – Indian River Academy

The Carole Dressler Award (cash award and certificate): Caitlin Swanson and Camila Ippert - Osceola Magnet Sandy Medina & Jaylynne Moise - Glendale

Emily Salvador Budding Scientist Award (cash award and certificate): Payton Andrews-Saint Edward’s Lower School

Lelan and Moira Cable Marine Science and/or Engineering Award: (cash award and certificate): Jonathan Russ & Helen Pacas – Indian River Academy Khrystina Simmons & Zavier Solano – Indian River Academy Victor Rojas & Miguel Guerra – Indian River Academy

GFWC Sebastian River Junior Woman’s Club Outstanding North County Elementary Project Award (cash award and certificate): Angelina Arteaga & Akaycia Stewart-Reid – Pelican Island Payton DeGroat & Camila Montoya – Treasure Coast Becky Hernandez & Yarell Moreno – Fellsmere Elementary Caleb Gornell & Elizabeth Combs – Sebastian Elementary Thomas Blais – Liberty Magnet

Scientific Inspiration Award (cash award and certificate): Tristian Hines & Michael Siniard – Citrus Elementary

Budding Scientist Award (cash award and certificate): Arely Simon-Barrera & Thomas Bueno – Vero Beach Elementary

Girls in Science Award (cash award and certificate): Tamiya Pringle Thompson & Violet Echols – Vero Beach Elementary Jessica Chambers & Mia Martinez – Vero Beach Elementary

Sebastian Charter Junior High Outstanding Fifth Grade Award (cash award & certificate): Jacob Denning – Treasure Coast Elementary

The Linda Voss Excellence in Life Science Award (cash award & certificate): Jeremiah Jackson – Glendale Elementary

The Einstein BROS. Bagels Innovation Award (cash award & certificate): Sarah Van Zuydam – Liberty Magnet

Florida Power & Light Award (cash award & certificate): Joseph Romero – Glendale Elementary 


efirc logo

For more information about the Indian River Regional Science and Engineering Fair visit or contact Cristen McMillan at 772-564-5527 or email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.