VBHS School Advisory Council Meeting Minutes

April 11th, 2017

Media Center: 4:00-4:47 pm

Chair: Cynthia Jorgensen

Vice Chair: Richard Lewis

Secretary: Lance Lunceford

Treasurer: Edie Collins

Attendees:Students: Leif Clark, Marianna Forero, Alex Harrison, Lonny Ingram, Lance Lunceford
Parents: Edie Collins, Dora Forero, Rafael Forero, Christine Hyde, Barbara Ingraham,
Diane Lanier
SDIRC Employees: Cynthia Jorgensen, Richard Lewis, Shawn O'Keefe (Principal)
Business/Community: Dawn Brooks, Jonnie Mae Perry, Percy Perry

Opening

Welcome: Cynthia Jorgensen called the meeting to order at 4:00 PM.

<u>Minutes:</u> Lance Lunceford presented the Minutes from the March meeting. A motion was made by Christine Hyde and seconded by Jonnie Mae Perry to approve the March Minutes. All were in favor; motion carried.

Treasurer's Report (Edie Collins): The current balance of the SAC is \$5,636.34

Principal's Report (Shawn O'Keefe)

<u>Instruction</u>: A variety of methods and goals have been employed to foster a more engaged learning environment for students.

- Teachers are devoting a greater amount of their class time towards practicing the material and less towards instructing in order to push students to take a more active role in their learning.
- English teachers are incorporating Socratic seminars and reciprocal teaching; students are leading discussions on literature or instructing their peers on their independent research of a piece.
- The school is moving towards the Florida Department of Education's goal of a 1:1 ratio of devices to students by 2018.

<u>Graduation:</u> VBHS has attained its highest graduation rate in 10 years for the second consecutive year. The commencement ceremony is to be held in the Citrus Bowl on Saturday, May 20th, 2017.

<u>AP Exams:</u> The schedule for Advanced Placement Exams is the same as in years past. Exams will begin on Monday, May 1st and conclude on Friday, May 12th.

Closing Items

<u>Officers:</u> The current officers were unanimously re-elected to their respective positions for the 2017-2018 academic year: Chair-Cynthia Jorgensen, Vice Chair-Richard Lewis, Secretary-Lance Lunceford, and Treasurer-Edie Collins.

<u>Final Meeting</u>: The Council unanimously agreed to cancel the upcoming meeting on May 9th, making this the last meeting of the 2016-2017 VBHS School Advisory Council. Cynthia Jorgensen thanked the members for their service to VBHS and the community throughout the 2016-2017 academic year.

Cynthia Jorgensen closed the meeting at 4:47 PM

SAC Adjourned; the next meeting will be held on September 12th, 2017 at 4:00 PM in the Media Center